Log in
twitter: @COBISorg and @COBIS_CEO
Representing over 500 member organisations, COBIS is the global association for international British schools overseas. The organisation has developed markedly since its foundation, changing to meet the needs and aspirations of its growing global school membership base.
COBIS exists to serve, support and represent its member schools – their leaders, governors, staff and students by:
• Providing Quality Assurance in member schools via The Patron’s Accreditation and Compliance scheme
• Representing member schools with the British Government, educational bodies and the corporate sector
• Providing effective professional development for senior leaders, governors, teachers and support staff
• Facilitating, coordinating and supporting professional networking opportunities for British International schools
• Processing Disclosure Barring Service checks to promote child protection and safer recruitment and employment practices
•Engaging, challenging and inspiring students of all ages and abilities by delivering excellent interschool student competitions and events
• Providing access to information about trends and developments in UK education
• Facilitating high impact ‘Member to Member’ professional networking
• Promoting career opportunities within the global COBIS network
• Connecting suppliers and companies operating in the education sector with international British schools overseas in its role as Trade Challenge Partner of the Department for International Trade (DIT)
• Brokering a cost-effective consultancy service between schools and approved educational support service providers
HRH The Duke of York, KG
COBIS Executive 2017–2018
Honorary President
Sir Roger Fry CBE
Honorary Vice Presidents
The Rt Hon Lord Andrew Adonis
Sir Mervyn Brown KCMG OBE
Michael Cooper OBE
Lord Lexden OBE
The Rt Hon The Lord Macgregor OBE
Dame Judith Mayhew Jonas DBE
Jean Scott
Lord Sharman OBE
The Rt Hon the Lord Knight of Weymouth
COBIS Head Office
CEO: Colin Bell
Chairman: Trevor Rowell, Governor, British International School Cairo
Vice Chairman: Dr Steffen Sommer, Principal, Doha College, Qatar
Brian Christian, Principal, The British School Tokyo, Japan
Kai Vacher, Principal, British School Muscat, Oman
Anne Howells, Head, British International School of Stavanger, Norway
Dawn Akyurek, Chief Academic Officer, King's Group, Spain
Eamonn Mullally, Executive Head/CEO, The Edron Academy, Mexico City
Janet Brock, Headteacher, The British International School of Kuala Lumpur
Professor Deborah Eyre, Author, World Class Educator
Dr Martin Coles, Former CEO, The British School in The Netherlands and Former Vice-Dean, The National College for School Leadership (Treasurer)
Jennifer Bray MBE, Former Principal in Hong Kong and Brussels (Inspections and Quality Officer)
Simon O’Grady, Principal, GEMS International School, Metropark Kuala Lumpur
Council of British International Schools
55–56 Russell Square, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4HP
Tel: +44 (0)20 3826 7190 • email: