Log in
Catholic Independent Schools' Conference
The CISC exists to:
• promote the work of Catholic independent schools throughout the UK;
• give and coordinate support and advice to member schools;
• organise activities for member schools including an annual conference, retreats and study days;
• represent the interests of CISC schools as appropriate;
• provide a help line for those seeking a Catholic Independent School for their children.
There are 135 schools currently in membership of the CISC. Schools in membership include day and boarding schools, single-sex and co-educational, senior and junior schools and special schools.
There are two categories of Members: Full Members and Associate Members.
Full Members
Full Members may be invited by the Committee to take up membership. He/She will be the Head or Principal of a school which satisfies the following seven conditions:
(a) The school shall be recognised by the local Catholic bishop as being Catholic.
(b) The school shall have been recognised as a charitable foundation by the Charity Commissioners.
(c) The school shall be independent.
(d) The school will have been subjected to a nationally accredited inspection and found to be in good standing.
(e) The expectation is that the head of the school will be a practising Catholic. Where governors appoint a head who is not a Catholic CISC will expect governors to provide training and support for the head to enable the head to lead a Catholic school, and will assist them in so doing.
(f) Full members only attend the AGM.
Associate Members
Associate Members may be invited by the Chairman to take up membership, but do not attend the AGM.
The following are eligible for associate membership:
(a) Heads of proprietary-owned schools, which meet the conditions of Full Membership apart from not being recognised by the Charity Commissioners as a charitable foundation.
(b) Retired full Members.
(c) Catholics, and other Christians, who are in sympathy with the aims of CISC.
(d) Heads of Foundation or Voluntary-Aided Schools, which meet the conditions of Full Membership, apart from not being recognised by the Charity Commissioners as a charitable foundation.
(e) Heads of Catholic Independent Schools outside the United Kingdom.
Officers for 2016–2017
Chair: Ms Antonia Beary, MPhil – Mayfield School
Vice Chair: Mr Michael Connolly, BSc, BA, MA, MEd – Cranmore School
Treasurer: Mr Antony Hudson, MA, PGCE, NPQH – St George's Junior School
Mrs Sarah Conrad, BA Hons, PGCE, NPQH – St Teresa's Prep School
Mr Paulo Durán, BA, MA – St Edmund's College
Mr Michael Kennedy, BSc, MA, NPQH, CChem, MRSC – St Mary's College Crosby
Mr Gareth Lloyd, BA Hons, MSc, FMusTCL – Ratcliffe College
Mr James Murphy-O’Connor, MA – Prior Park College
Mr Stephen Oliver, BA, MLitt – Our Lady's Abingdon
General Secretary: Mr Raymond Friel, MA Hons, NPQH
Catholic Independent Schools’ Conference
17 Rossiters Hill, Frome, Somerset BA11 4AL
Tel: 07949 394925 • email: